[Talk] DSL and cable providers
Terry Richards
talk@flux.org
Wed, 08 Nov 2006 17:29:14 -0500
Terry Richards wrote:
> Danny Rathjens wrote:
>
>> bellsouth blocked outgoing port 25 for a long time, but using their
>> server as a smarthost wasn't a problem for running your private server.
>> But earlier this year they started blocking incoming port 25 as well,
>> so I can no longer run the mail server for my family domain at home on
>> my dsl.
>> Apparently you have to pay an extra ~$100-ish per month to upgrade
>> the home connection to a "business" connection for them to stop
>> blocking your mail server.
>
>
>
> hows come i can send an email from mm.trichards.homeunix.net to
> sn00per1@bellsouth.net?
> it appears to go from my pc to bellsouth and back to my laptop all
> thru port 25 <i only have home dsl>
From terry Wed Nov 8 17:18:57 2006
Return-Path: <terry@trichards.homeunix.net>
Received: from mail.bellsouth.net [205.152.59.16]
by localhost with POP3 (fetchmail-6.3.4)
for <terry@localhost> (single-drop); Wed, 08 Nov 2006 17:18:57
-0500 (EST)
Received: from mxm08aec.corp.bellsouth.net ([205.152.59.244])
by imf02aec.mail.bellsouth.net with ESMTP
id
<20061108221623.WBMI26104.imf02aec.mail.bellsouth.net@mxm08aec.corp.bellsouth.
net>
for <sn00per1@bellsouth.net>; Wed, 8 Nov 2006 17:16:23 -0500
Received: from unknown [192.168.16.146] (EHLO ibm36aec.bellsouth.net)
by mxm08aec.corp.bellsouth.net (mxl_mta-2.14.0-16)
with ESMTP id 63752554.2160094128.1357768.mxm08aec
(envelope-from <terry@trichards.
homeunix.net>);
Wed, 08 Nov 2006 17:16:22 -0500 (EST)
Received: from mm.trichards.homeunix.net ([65.12.208.185])
by ibm36aec.bellsouth.net with ESMTP
id
<20061108221621.EGNE99.ibm36aec.bellsouth.net@mm.trichards.homeunix.net>
for <sn00per1@bellsouth.net>; Wed, 8 Nov 2006 17:16:21 -0500
Received: by mm.trichards.homeunix.net (Postfix, from userid 1000)
id 70E473815E; Wed, 8 Nov 2006 17:16:21 -0500 (EST)
Date: Wed, 8 Nov 2006 17:16:21 -0500
From: Terry Richards <terry@mm.trichards.homeunix.net>
To: sn00per1@bellsouth.net
Subject: test
Message-ID: <20061108221621.GA9758@mm.trichards.homeunix.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Disposition: inline
User-Agent: Mutt/1.5.13 (2006-08-11)
X-Spam: [F=0.3443359212; S=0.259(2006092801); MH=0.500(2006110818);
R=0.600(s0/n0); SC=none
]
X-MAIL-FROM: <terry@trichards.homeunix.net>
X-SOURCE-IP: [192.168.16.146]
test
i'm pretty sure my mail is running through it
/|\